top of page

To the Girl With Standards


Okay, there’s something we need to get straight ladies — having standards is NOT a bad thing.

For years I have been told that I seem stuck up because my standards are too high when it comes to dating and relationships. I have been called out, made fun of, judged, and ridiculed simply because I know what I want and I know what type of guy the Lord says I should look for. And I’m not willing to settle.

Having standards is not something to be ashamed of and is definitely not something you should throw out the window when people start asking you about them! It simply means that you care enough about your heart and your future husband’s heart to not waste your time dating every single guy who looks your way. It means that you’re patient enough to wait for him. It means your trust is in the Lord, not in this world.

Most guys will grow frustrated with me when we get on the subject of standards because they assume I’m talking about physical characteristics. And while yes, I would like to be physically attracted to the man I’m going to marry someday, that is not what I mean. So what exactly do I mean when I say I have standards?

I’m looking for someone who loves the Lord with everything and His people.

” ‘Love the Lord your God with all heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’, and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ ” – Luke 10:27

I’m looking for someone who is humble and imitates Christ.

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also the interests of others. Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus. – Philippians 2:17

I’m looking for someone who will be kind and forgiving towards me when I mess up.

Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other just as in Christ God forgave you. – Ephesians 4:32 & the entire book of Hosea

I’m looking for someone who will be the head of our family and love me the way Christ does.

“For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior.” & “Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her…” – Ephesians 5:22-33

And these are just a few of the things that the Bible tells us to look for in a spouse and man of God.

So you see? Having standards is not a bad thing! The Lord wants us to have standards so we can discern whether or not this guy is going to be the man of God we so crave to go through life with. Don’t feel like you have to settle because everyone around you is telling you you should, know what the Lord is telling you to wait for!

And in the meantime, pray for him. Pray that the Lord grows and provides these characteristics in him. And pray for yourself that you will also fill the standards of the woman of God he’s looking for! It will so be worth the wait!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • Pinterest - White Circle
bottom of page